Time.

You can always make more money but you can never make more time.

I can’t actually remember who said that to me but it’s a phrase I’ve repeated recently to one of my kids. And now I’m in my forties it’s more apparent than ever, but why is it? 

Certainly, when I was in my teens a year took a year. It lasted ages and by the time you reached Christmas you were ready for it to end, but now, the older I get the shorter the years become. The last one seemed to only have consisted of three months. January, February, March…. Bam! It’s Christmas.

Is it just,that now I have children and a husband, because I’m living my life for others,that it’s passing four times as fast,? Or is it that my life is so packed with other things that I’ve not left any room in my days anymore. You know, room for doing nothing and being bored.

Maybe that’s it.

Time only stretches before you if you have the opportunity to be bored. That’s something no one ever tells you about. When you become an adult there’s very little room for boredom. I’ll be honest, I can’t remember the last time I was bored. These days, periods of doing nothing is known as relaxing and being able to just stop and do nothing is something I actively seek. 

It’s funny because when I was young I wanted a life full of interesting things so I wouldn’t get bored and now I’d nothing more than the chance to be bored. But I’m too busy earning money. If only I could earn more time.

Unfortunately, time doesn’t pay the bills.

Leave a Reply

