Beans and Rice:Doing stuff for others.

2c970fa6-cff3-41a4-b938-1c4cb8123b92

When I was at school, and a heck of a lot more resilient, I took part in the 24 famine challenge in aid of charity. This involved not eating anything for a full 24 hours and asking people to sponsor me. However, since I’m an old lady now, with a plethora of health issues I’m not able to fast any more so instead I’ll be eating rice and beans.

The idea behind this is to experience what it’s like for people in poorer countries who can barely afford enough to eat. Sometimes they can buy a little grain to make porridge or some rice but never in massive quantities – not like the mental stockpilers we’re hearing about currently. So, sometimes they have to rely on aid from charities, but then again, there’s never enough to go round and it doesn’t solve the problem in the long term.

That’s where Tearfund come in. They’re a charity that uses their finding to teach sustainable farming methods to those people in poorer areas of the world. They provide tools, seeds and education to support people to grown themselves out of hunger by growing their own food, and out of poverty by growing enough to sell. That’s why I’m supporting them this year. Giving to a charity that provides food is great in the short term but what people really need is independence, so that they don’t have to rely on short term hand outs. That’s why I’m eating rice and beans – and porridge made with water- from Wednesday 18th March to Sunday 22nd March, and I’m hoping that more people will sponsor me to help support Tearfund.

84550544_139517453875171_4832907906159040032_n

I’ll be sharing my experience of my challenge as I go along so that you can see how i’m doing but for now I’ll be eating whatever I fancy, because 5 days is going to seem like a life time.

If you’d like to support me or want more info click on the link below:

https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/carolinesmeanbeanchallenge2021

Thank you xx

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.